What is a Trauma Center?

A Trauma Center is a specialized hospital distinguished by the immediate availability of personnel, equipment and services to treat the most severe and critical injuries.

Trauma is defined as any injury to the body; it is often referred to as the neglected disease of the 21st century. Main causes of trauma are falls, motor vehicle accidents, assaults and shootings.

Level I Trauma Centers across Texas

Baylor University Medical Center, part of Baylor Scott & White Health in Dallas and Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Temple provide comprehensive trauma services at our Level I Trauma Centers.

These centers directly receive trauma patients, as well as patients transferred from other Baylor Scott & White Health hospitals and healthcare facilities throughout North and Central Texas.

Our Level I Trauma Centers in Dallas and Temple are successful because of the expertise of everyone involved. We use the services of many specialties, including orthopedics, general surgery, rehabilitation, plastic surgery and more.

These specialists are available 24/7 to provide care to the hundreds of trauma patients who come through our doors in Dallas and Temple. In addition, they are supported by a staff of nurses, therapists, social workers and injury prevention specialists.

A Level I Trauma Center is a facility that:

  • Is a regional resource hospital that is central to a trauma care system
  • Provides total care for every aspect of injury, from prevention through rehabilitation
  • Maintains resources and personnel for patient care, education and research (usually in a university-based teaching hospital)
  • Provides leadership in education, research and system planning to all hospitals caring for injured patients in the region

Additional trauma facilities


In addition to our Level I Trauma Centers, several Baylor Scott & White hospitals across Texas are designated as Level II, Level III or Level IV trauma facilities.

Level II (Major) Trauma facility

A Level II Emergency Trauma Center is able to begin decisive care for all injured patients and offers immediate coverage by many specialists including general surgeons, orthopedic surgeons, neurosurgeons and critical care.

Level III (Advanced) Trauma facility

A Level III Emergency Trauma Center provides injured patients rapid assessment, resuscitation, surgery, intensive care and stabilization.

These centers serve as an alternative resource for rural and community hospitals.

Level IV (Basic) Trauma facility

A Level IV Emergency Trauma Center delivers advanced trauma life support (ATLS) before transferring patients to a higher level trauma center.

Level IV Trauma Centers offer evaluation, stabilization and diagnostic capabilities for injured patients.


Take a look at some of these additional resources related to trauma care

Only have a minute to search and don't know where to look? Start with these Internet resources and websites: